## Notes and Comments

## 1998 W. Kaye Lamb Prize

The W. Kaye Lamb prize was established in 1983. It is awarded annually to honour the author of the best *Archivaria* article published during the past year – articles which, by the quality of their research, reflection and writing, have most advanced archival thinking and scholarship in Canada.

The past recipients have been Ian Wilson, Gordon Dodds, Bill Russell, David Bearman and Richard Lytle (joint authors), Ruth May, Hugh Taylor, Luciana Duranti, Barbara Craig, Brien Brothman, Hugo Stibbe, Margaret Hedstrom, Lorraine O'Donnell, Joan Schwartz, Verne Harris, and Terry Cook.

The recipient of the 1998 Lamb prize is Robert McIntosh for his article, "The Great War, Archives, and Modern Memory." I was pleased to read the following citation at the 1999 Annual Conference of the Association of Canadian Archivists in London:

This article is distinguished by its effective blend of strong historical research and thoughtful reflection on archival practice. The author's juxtaposition of two approaches to the creation of the Canadian military record of the First World War, those of Arthur Doughty and Max Aitken, vividly illustrates the kinds of fundamental choice archivists can make in "authoring" the archival record. His call for clearer acknowledgment of archivists' roles as creators of memory is well-crafted and compelling, particularly his call for archivists to be "frank" concerning our "politics of memory" and communicate to users "the institutional, legal, policy, and procedural framework in which archives function."

Congratulations again to Robert for his fine article.

**Don Macleod** General Editor