## Notes and Comments

## 1997 W. Kaye Lamb Prize

The W. Kaye Lamb prize was established in 1983. It is awarded annually to honour the author of the best *Archivaria* article published during the past year – articles which, by the quality of their research, reflection, and writing, have most advanced archival thinking and scholarship in Canada.

The past recipients have been Ian Wilson, Gordon Dodds, Bill Russell, David Bearman and Richard Lytle (joint authors), Ruth May, Hugh Taylor, Luciana Duranti, Barbara Craig, Brien Brothman, Hugo Stibbe, Margaret Hedstrom, Lorraine O'Donnell, Joan Schwartz, and Verne Harris.

The 1997 winner is Terry Cook for his article "What is Past is Prologue: A History of Archival Ideas Since 1898, and the Future Paradigm Shift." I was honoured to read the following citation at the Awards Luncheon at the Association of Canadian Archivists Annual Conference in Halifax:

This article does a masterful job of joining the past, present, and future: looking at new, past, and recurring themes that shape and have shaped how archivists view themselves and their profession and conduct the archival enterprise – as Terry terms them "our collective discourse, the metatext or narrative that animates our professional practice." The writing is singularly lucid; throughout the article complex concepts are communicated clearly, simply, directly, and gracefully. It is an elegant melding of intellectual history and archival theory, deft in its sensitivity to the influence of milieu and to ideas' particular content, cadence, and voice. Terry's ideas on appraisal and redefining our ideas of provenance and archival fonds are likely to be widely influential, here in Canada and abroad, and his magisterial words and interpretations widely cited.

Terry's work is an inspiration to Archivaria authors.

Don Macleod General Editor