collection of photographer, J. H. Gano, Wainwright, Alberta, consisting of some 200 negatives, excellent views of pioneer and early farming life, east central Alberta, mainly 1908 - 1920.

During recent years a number of communities in Alberta have been preparing local histories and in 1966 and 1967 this stream of studies became a veritable flood. So many calls for help came to Glenbow Archives that in addition to research assistance and the provision of pictures, a regular program was followed, providing advice concerning general procedure, format of work and its publication.

Another noteworthy feature during the past year was the increasing number of demands for material for educational purposes. Some of these were for television or teachers' aid programs of an experimental nature from such bodies as Ontario Institute of Studies and Education; Alberta Department of Education; Calgary Association Radio Educational Television.

* *

University of Alberta Library: The University Library has just announced the appointment of James M. Parker, as Archivist. He will be joining the Library Staff, September 1, 1968. He will be responsible for consolidating all University of Alberta records and indexing them.

A guide to the papers of Henry Marshall Tory (first president of the University of Alberta), 1908 - 1927, has been compiled by W. J. Cherwinski for internal use only.

* * *

Red Deer and District Archives Committee: The Committee moved into new quarters in the Archive Room of the new centennial library building equipped with a tape recorder, and microfilm reader. The Committee's Centennial project was the publication in the Red Deer Advocate of a pioneer family biography for every publishing day in 1967.

Our Archive Committee members are appointed for a 2-year term and they are: Mr. E. L. Meeres, Chairman, Mr. Fred Horn, Mrs. Annie L. Gaetz, Mrs. J. Richards, Alderman Mrs. L. H. Taylor, Mr. Gordon Caton, Mr. G. Stickland, Mr. Nigel Lawrence, Mrs. Thelma Foster, Archivist and Secretary-Treasurer.

SASKATCHEWAN

Saskatchewan Archives Board, Regina and Saskatoon: Lloyd Rodwell of the Saskatoon staff has been on leave-of-absence, 1967 - 1968, taking his M. A. year in History. Adjustments in staffing have resulted in an establishment at the Regina office comprised of the Provincial Archivist, two archival assistants, one stenographer, and one clerk.

In September, 1967 the Regina office was moved from the Legislative Building to the new Library Building of the University of Saskatchewan, Regina Campus. Occupying the full 5th floor, some 18,000 square feet of floor space, the new quarters provide adequate stack and work areas, offices, and search rooms. Expenditures for new furniture

and equipment totalled \$25,000. During the official opening on October 14, some 600 visitors toured the area.

The Board published a revised "Directory of Members of Parliament and Federal Elections for the North-West Territories and Saskatchewan, 1887 - 1966" (Price: \$1.50).

During the fall Mr. Turner and Mr. Bocking addressed five teachers' conventions on subjects relating to Saskatchewan history, the work of the Archives, and the role of local history in the social studies curriculum. Mr. Turner again conducted a weekly seminar on the History of the Prairie West, at the Regina Campus, with 14 students enrolled. Ed Morgan and Stan Hanson both took one class credited to their Honours' history program. Mr. Turner was re-appointed to a further term on the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, and was awarded the Canada Centennial Medal. The archives provided inscriptions for some 30 provincial historic sites markers and research assistance for numerous local history projects. The Provincial Archivist participated in Centennial events and the official openings of memorial centres at Estevan, Porcupine Plains, Fort Carlton, Nipiwin, Fort Qu'Appelle, Buchanan, Saskatoon, and Regina.

Among notable acquisitions were records of L'Association Culturelle Franco-Canadienne de la Saskatchewan, 1913 - 1935 (microfilm copy); Dalton Fisher collection (books, pamphlets, photographs, clippings re Regina); papers of Neil H. McTaggart, M. P. Hon. J. Wilfrid Gardiner, Hon. A. E. Forget; Oxbow Herald, 1904 - 1943; records of Sask. Provincial Council, Catholic Women's League, 1943 - 1967; records from several government agencies including Economic Development Board, Department of Education, and Department of Natural Resources.

MANITOBA

Provincial Archives: An almost complete change of Archives personnel occurred during 1967. Hartwell Bowsfield, the first Provincial Archivist of Manitoba, resigned at the end of August after occupying the position for fifteen years. Until Mr. Bowsfield's appointment there had only been a part-time archivist employed by the Provincial Library.

John A. Bovey, formerly Archivist of the Government of the Northwest Territories was appointed Provincial Archivist to replace Mr. Bowsfield. Barry Hyman, previously on the staff of the Public Archives of Canada was appointed Assistant Archivist to replace W. Regis Bennett who resigned after occupying this position since 1962. During 1967 Miss Elizabeth Blight joined the staff as an additional assistant archivist.

Fortunately for the new members of the staff and the researching public Mrs. Louisa Douglas remained in her position as secretary archival assistant and thus was able to furnish an invaluable working knowledge and an essential continuity to the operations of the Ar-